How To Obtain and Maintain a Texas Saltwater Fishing License

Texas Park and WildlifeEveryone over the age of 16 fishing the coastal waters of Texas needs a saltwater fishing license. It doesn’t matter if you’re catching and releasing or catching and keeping.

You must have a Texas saltwater fishing license to fish the coast….

Even if you’re fishing from your own private property the water is still considered public water. You will need to have a fishing license to catch and keep fish from your own private home or land.

Game wardens will throw away a cooler full of undersized fish if they catch you… I’ve seen them do it at the old Texas City Dike pier one night.

I’ve seen them fine a person for keeping more than one tagged bull redfish (28 inches +) and keeping too many speckled trout (Limit is 10).

Buying a fishing license is a simple and “cheap” process that nobody should be caught without one. Texas Park and Wildlife has made it even easier for you to buy your fishing license online by visiting their website.  

You can even go to big stores like Academy Sports and Outdoors, Cabelas, Bass Pro Shop or even your major local bait camps near your fishing spot to get a fishing license.

Listed below are a few frequently asked questions that I usually hear about getting Texas saltwater fishing license…

How much does a saltwater fishing license cost?
Saltwater Package: $35
All-Water Package: $40
Senior Saltwater Package: $17
Senior All-Water Package: $22
(All-Water means Saltwater and Freshwater)

Where can I buy a Texas Saltwater Fishing License.
Bass Pro Shop

Who needs a fishing license in Texas?
Crabbers and anyone looking to catch and release fish, period. In cast nets, buckets, crab traps or pull string… You need to have a fishing license if you’re over the age of 16 which brings us to the next common question…

How old do you have to be to get a fishing license in Texas?
You have to be older than 16 to be required to have a fishing license. If a person younger than 17 catches a slot size Redfish, (slot size between 20 – 28 inches) they must have an Exempt Angler Red Drum Tag for $3.

Buying a fishing license helps fund conservation programs and our Texas Game Wardens paychecks who work hard at doing their jobs everyday. You can find more information by visiting Texas Park & Wildlife Official Website

Let’s take care of the water and species we enjoy and cherish while fishing.

Tight Lines!


Leave a Reply

Free Sign Up

  • An error has occurred, which probably means the feed is down. Try again later.